NAZAR SCENTED CANDLES

The fragrance families

SHIIBA'S WORDS

The fragrance families

Hello everyone, today we meet to talk about a little more technical things, and we love it. As candle creators we have to collaborate with perfumers and to develop our nose in order to offer you the best fragrances in our scented candles. Over the years we have therefore learned a lot about perfumes, their compositions and how to apprehend them. It's a subject that fascinates us, and we love to discuss our passions. So without further ado, here is the presentation of the different families of perfumes.

Each fragrance belongs to a large olfactory family. There are seven: floral, woody, oriental, fern, chypre, aromatic and citrus.

You are curious and want to know more, you want to impress your friends, your family by describing their perfumes/their candles? So happy reading! 

The Florals 

I decided to start this article with the Floral family, which I think will be the most familiar and meaningful to you. It is also the most worked family in perfume and the most common and seductive. The latter composes the majority of perfumes with a feminine inclination.

It is composed of fresh, delicate notes such as jasmine, rose, tuberose, orange blossom and so many others. This same family can be divided into two distinct categories: on the one hand there are the so-called solar flowers (jasmine, etc.) and on the other the fresh flowers (lily of the valley, etc.).

Some flowers in nature do not give off any smell, such as: poppy, sunflower or even hibiscus. As a result, perfumers have fun creating their scents synthetically. To obtain different results and different notes, you can use the entire flower, in fact perfumers use the heart as much as the stem or the petals. Everything is usable. 

Our flower candles: 
home-shiiba-candle-vegan35

The woodlands

The woody olfactory family is made up of aromas and essences extracted from wood and tree mosses. In most cultures, woody scents are synonymous with luxury. They are suitable for elegant, characterful people, usually representing a certain maturity. We find this family in a lot of so-called “masculine” perfumes. The latter is one of the families that we like the most to work at Maison Shiiba. It is built around the main notes of wood such as: oud, palo santo, sandalwood. A wood is rarely alone in its family when it composes a perfume. 

Our woody candles: 

Oriental families

The family that includes the oriental notes is also called the “amber” family. So that you are not lost, let me directly give you the examples of notes that we can find in this family. At first you can find: vanilla or tonka or incense and benzoin. Today these oriental notes have conquered the perfumery market and represent 40% of sales. These notes often have the power to transport you elsewhere, their mysterious and exotic notes are of rare power. 

Our oriental candles: 
Carthage candle Maison Shiiba

Ferns 

First thing to clarify about this family: no, that does not mean that the smells that make it up are only those of the plants that bear the same name.The "ferns" designate the perfumes built around the same olfactory pyramid, that is to say: a lavender head, a geranium heart and a sea bottom and moss of chenna. Therefore, it is a very closed family and includes very few perfumes. 

Our Fougères candles: 

The chypre family

A very special story and a very closed family like that of ferns. In 1917, the success of François Coty's Chypre perfume gave rise to the creation of a feminine olfactory family. Based on an accord of raw materials: oak moss, bergamot, patchouli, cistus labdanum, rose and jasmine. A specific accord that very few use in perfumery. We present it to you so as not to leave you any secrets. At the end of this article you will be a real expert in the field. 

Aromatics

Aromatic notes are, as their names suggest, composed of aromas. You will therefore find sage, thyme, rosemary, chamomile. Within candles, these fragrances often have therapeutic properties. It's a family that comes to tickle and sparkle in your nostrils, a pleasant experience that can sometimes even (for the greediest) whet your appetite. 

Citrus 

Last but not least. The citrus family is often composed of citrus notes: lemon, bergamot, grapefruit, etc. This is the oldest family, it is the origin of eau de Cologne. When we smell a candle or a perfume, these are the first notes that come to our nose, because often the most intense. For the little story : the term "citrus" comes from Greek mythology. Hesperides are nymphs that protect the gardens of the Gods, in which there was the famous "Golden Apple" (oranges).

On this beautiful story of Greek mythology I am finishing this article which I hope has enlightened you and helped you to see more clearly about the families of perfumes. As always, let us know what you thought of it. instagram Where Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

NAZAR BOUGIES PARFUMEES

Les familles de parfums

LES MOTS DE SHIIBA

Les familles de parfums

Bonjour à tous, aujourd’hui on se retrouve pour parler de choses un peu plus techniques, et on adore ça. En tant que créateurs de bougie nous sommes amenés à collaborer avec des parfumeurs et à développer notre nez afin de vous proposer les meilleures fragrances dans nos bougies parfumée. Au fur et à mesure des années nous en avons donc appris beaucoup sur les parfums, leurs compositions et comment les appréhender. C’est un sujet qui nous passionne, et on adore échanger sur nos passions. Alors sans plus attendre, voici la présentation des différentes familles de parfums.

Chaque parfum appartient à une grande famille olfactive. Il en existe sept : les florales, les boisées, les orientaux, les fougères, les chyprées, les aromatiques et les hespéridées.

Vous êtes curieux et désirez en savoir plus, vous souhaitez impressionner vos copains, votre famille en décrivant leurs parfums/leurs bougies  ? Alors bonne lecture ! 

Les Florales 

J’ai décidé de commencer cet article avec la famille Florales, qui, je pense, vous sera la plus familière et la plus parlante. Elle est aussi la famille la plus travaillée dans le parfum et la plus commune et séduisante.Cette dernière compose la majorité des parfums à penchant féminin.

Elle est composée de notes fraîches, délicates comme le jasmin, la rose, la tubéreuse, la fleur d’oranger et tant d’autres. Cette même famille peut être divisée en deux catégories distinctes : il y a d’un côté les fleurs dites solaires ( jasmin, etc)  et de l’autre les fleurs fraîches ( muguet, etc ).

Certaines fleurs de la nature ne dégagent aucune odeur comme : le coquelicot, le tournesol ou encore l’hibiscus. De ce fait des parfumeurs s’amusent à créer leurs odeurs de manière synthétique. Pour obtenir différents résultats et différentes notes, on peut utiliser la totalité de la fleur, en effet les parfumeurs utilisent autant le cœur, que la tige ou bien les pétales. Tout est exploitable. 

Nos bougies fleuries : 
maison-shiiba-bougie-vegan35

Les boisées

La famille olfactive boisée est composée d’arômes et d’essences extraits du bois et de mousses d’arbres. Dans la plus part des cultures, les parfums boisés sont synonymes de luxe. Ils conviennent aux personnes élégantes, de caractère, généralement représentant une certaine maturité. On retrouve cette famille dans énormément de parfums dit “masculin”. Cette dernière est l’une des familles que l’on aime le plus travailler chez Maison Shiiba. Elle est construite autour des notes principales de bois comme : le oud, le palo santo, le santal. Un bois est rarement seul dans sa famille lorsqu’il compose un parfum. 

Nos bougies boisées : 

Les famille des Orientales

La famille qui regroupe les notes orientales est également appelée la famille “ambrée” . Pour que vous ne soyez pas perdu, laissez moi directement vous donner les exemples de notes que nous pouvons retrouver dans cette famille. Dans un premier temps vous pouvez trouver : la vanille ou encore le tonka ou bien l’encens et le benjoin. Aujourd’hui ces notes orientales ont conquis le marché de la parfumerie est représentent  40% des ventes. Ces notes ont souvent le pouvoir de vous transporter ailleurs, leurs notes mystérieuses et exotiques sont d’une puissance rare. 

Nos bougies orientales : 
Bougie carthage Maison Shiiba

Les Fougères 

Première chose à clarifier sur cette famille : non cela ne veut pas dire que les odeurs qui la composent ne sont uniquement celles des plantes qui portent le même nom .Les « fougères » désignent les parfums construits autour d’une même pyramide olfactive, c’est-à-dire: une tête lavandée, un cœur géranium et un fond marin et mousse de chêne. Par conséquent, il s’agit d’une famille très fermée et qui regroupe très peu de parfums. 

Nos bougies Fougères : 

La famille des Chyprés

Une histoire toute particulière et une famille très fermée comme celle des fougères. En 1917, le succès du parfum Chypre de François Coty donne naissance à la création d’une famille olfactive féminine. Basée sur un accord de matières premières : la mousse de chêne, la bergamote, le patchouli, le ciste labdanum, la rose et le jasmin. Un accord spécifique et que très peu utilisent en parfumerie. On vous le présente pour ne vous laisser aucun secret. À la fin de cet article vous serez de véritable petit expert en la matière. 

Les Aromatiques

Les notes aromatiques sont, comme leurs noms l’indiquent, composées d’arômes. Vous y retrouvez donc de la sauge, du thym, du romarin, la camomille. Au sein des bougies, ces fragrances ont souvent des vertus thérapeuthiques. Il s’agit d’une famille qui vient titiller et pétiller dans vos narines, une expérience agréable qui peut parfois même (pour les plus gourmands)  ouvrir votre appétit. 

Les Hespéridés 

Last but not least. La famille des hespéridés est souvent composée de notes d’agrumes : citron, bergamote, pamplemousse, etc. Il s’agit de la famille la plus ancienne, elle est à l’origine de l’eau de Cologne. Lorsque l’on sent une bougie ou un parfum, ce sont les premières notes qui nous viennent au nez, car souvent les plus intenses. Pour la petite histoire : le terme « hespéride » provient de la mythologie grecque. Les hespérides sont des nymphes qui protègent les jardins des Dieux, dans lesquels il y avait la célèbre « Pomme d’or » (les oranges).

Sur cette belle histoire de la mythologie grecque je finis cet article qui je l’espère vous a éclairé et aidé à y voir plus claire sur les familles de parfums. Comme d’habitude, n’hésitez pas à nous dire ce que vous en avez pensé sur Instagram ou Facebook.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.